Spinach and Goat Cheese Quiche

Quiche.  It’s not as scary as it sounds.  At least the version that I make – its easy, there is no crust, and its endlessly adaptable.  It’s one of those recipes where you can use up whatever you have in the fridge.  And you may think that quiche is not something you can eat for dinner.  But I disagree – although I do love having breakfast for dinner.  But eggs are a great source of protein and you can add all sorts of veggies which really adds up to dinner in my books.

I try to eat seasonally, but I am cheating tonight.  Spinach, definitely not in season here in NM.  But I just had a hankering for something green – and not just green, but tender and green.  So although I could have eaten chard, I just really wanted something different.  I am just itching for spring to come, then I can eat all of those tender greens and  not feel guilty about it!

I definitely kept it simple with this quiche.  Just spinach and goat cheese.  Simple, but still satisfyingly delicious.  And who doesn’t want to have leftover quiche ready to go in the morning??

Spinach and Goat Cheese Quiche

1 3/4 cup whole milk

3 eggs

1/2 cup flour

pinch of salt

1 bunch of spinach

approximately 5 oz. goat cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease or butter a pie plate and set aside.

Combine the milk, eggs, flour and salt in a blender (I used an immersion blender and it worked perfectly).  Blend until smooth and slightly frothy.

In pie plate add spinach.  It will look like there is too much spinach, but it cooks down.  On top of the spinach add the goat cheese in chunks.  Then pour the egg batter over the spinach and goat cheese.

Bake for about 50 minutes until slightly browned on top.  Let cool and as it cools it will set.  Cut and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Dinner, Quick

Leave a Reply

