Fresh Yogurt and Blueberry Sauce

I’ve been reading this really interesting book about real food.  Right now it is talking about milk.  I’ve never been a huge fan of drinking milk, it has always made me a bit uneasy. But the book is talking about how real milk – milk from cows raised on pasture, preferably raw milk is the perfect food.  It has the perfect balance of fat, protein, good cholesterol etc.  And this book is really making me take a new look at milk.

So today I decided to make some yogurt.  I received a great Christmas present this year from my grandmother – a yogurt maker.  I have made one batch of yogurt since the holidays and it really is amazing how different fresh yogurt is from what you buy in a store.  And it is great to know exactly what is going into your yogurt.  So today, I chose the best milk I could find – fresh whole milk – with the cream still on top – not homogenized.  And I can’t wait to taste the results!

But I prefer my yogurt with a bit of fruit.  So I decided to make a blueberry sauce to top the yogurt with.  I had a bag of frozen organic wild blueberries that I thought would work perfectly.  A simple sauce with blueberries, honey and a bit of vanilla.  And now that I have tasted this sauce, I am sure I can find endless uses for this sauce – on ice cream, on top of pound cake, strained and in seltzer just to name a few.  It really is delicious!

Blueberry Honey Sauce

1 cup of fresh or thawed blueberries

scant 1/4 cup honey

scant 1/8 tsp vanilla

Lightly mash blueberries with a fork.  Bring honey to a boil in a small sauce pan.  Once it is at a boil, add blueberries.  Bring back up to a boil.  Add vanilla.  Cook down for about 10 minutes.  Stir occasionally.  Let cool and enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Canning

2 responses to “Fresh Yogurt and Blueberry Sauce

  1. Pingback: Butternut Squash and Carmelized Onion Tart « Notes From A Cookbook

  2. Pingback: St. Patrick’s Day Cupcakes « Notes From A Cookbook

Leave a Reply

