Citrus Marmalade

I have a mild phobia of canning.  And I am actively trying to defeat my phobia.  I canned some apple butter for stocking stuffers this year and this past week I canned about 4 pints of marmalade.  I’m still scared.  But I need to get over myself before gardening season.  I even got a pressure cooker since we are at such high altitude (our house is at about 6800 ft.) to ease my fear.  But then I became scared of the pressure cooker.

But I did it this weekend.  And it wasn’t so bad.  And the marmalade is delicious.  And I am slowly getting over my phobia.  Slowly.

The most time consuming part of the process was preparing the citrus.  I went to the grocery store and picked out about 15 pieces that looked good.  I picked up a good mix of lemons, grapefriut, mineolas, navels and tangelos.

And then the work begins…

The fruit needs to be diced into fairly small pieces.  And include the pith and peel for about 1/3 to 1/2 of the fruit.  The pith and peel has natural pectin so you will not need to as as much pectin into the cooking marmalade.  Also it makes the marmalade a little tangy – so it is not your run of the mill sweet marmalade.  It has some depth.  And now I can look forward to homemade marmalade all throughout the year, even after the citrus season!

Citrus Marmalade

10 cups diced citrus (including some pith and peel)

1 cup liquid (I used orange juice)

4 cups sugar

1 packet of pectin (I used 2 and wish I had only used one)

Put the citrus, liquid and sugar into a large pot.  Stir to mix sugar in.  Bring to a boil and then lower heat to a simmer.  Simmer for about 10-15 minutes.  Then add pectin – stir to combine.

Let simmer for another hour – stirring occasionally so that it does not stick to the bottom of the pot.  Now you have marmalade!

As this is simmering sterilize your canning jars (this will make about 4 pints of marmalade).  When your marmalade is ready, can the marmalade with your chosen canning method.

(I am definitely not an expert when it comes to canning, so I do not want to give out any faulty instructions)

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Canning

Leave a Reply

