English Muffins and Citrus Marmalade

I am inconsistent when it comes to breakfast.  No matter what time I go to bed, I always have a hard time getting up in the morning.  I think part of it is due to Ella and Franklin getting restless much earlier than I would like.  So even though my alarm doesn’t go off until 7am, my animals start waking up around 5 or 6 and I just resist them as long as possible!  And there is only so long that you can resist a face like this…

But anyway, that leads me to breakfast.  Sometimes, I admit it, I skip breakfast. Sometimes I eat at the office.  Usually it isn’t very exciting – just oatmeal or yogurt.  But sometimes, I wake up with enough time to actually make something yummy for breakfast, at home.  Today was one of those days – but I was kind of late to work.  Oh well, it was worth it.  Last week I made English muffins and I found that you can freeze the English muffin dough – and this works out perfectly.

Before I go to bed, I take the frozen dough out of the freezer and by morning, the muffins are ready to cook.  And there is nothing – and I mean nothing – like a freshly griddled English muffin, especially when you top it off with fresh marmalade.  It is a yummy way to start off the day.

I used the English muffin recipe from the Joy of Cooking.  It does take a bit of time, but the end result is worth the wait.   I had a hard time getting the sponge to rise (we keep our house pretty chilly) and it actually never got to the size that it should have – but this batch does not taste any different than other batches I have made in the past.

English Muffins

Combine in a bowl:

1 cup water

1/2 cup scalded milk

2 teaspoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt

Dissolve 2 tablespoons of hot water (I did it as hot as my faucet would go) and 1 package of active dry yeast for about 5 minutes

Combine 2 mixures

Sift 4 cups of flour

Stir in 2 cups of sifted flour into the milk mixture.  Cover the bowl with a cloth.  Let the sponge rise in a ware place for about 1 1/2 hours or until the sponge collapses back into the bowl (this never happened for me on this most recent batch, and I proceeded about 3 hours later just pretending that it did!)

Beat 3 tablespoons of softened butter into the sponge.

Knead in the remaining flour.  Roll out the dough so that it is no more than 1/2 inch thick.  Then either use biscuit cutters or some round can, glass, whatever you have on hand to make the english muffins.  Place the muffins onto a cookie sheet and allow them to rise until they have about doubled in bulk.

At this point, I wrapped them in plastic wrap and put them in the freezer.

When you are ready to eat them, let them thaw and then heat a griddle or frying pan.  Put a small amount of butter in the pan.  Place the dough in the pan when it is nice and hot.  Let the muffins cook on medium heat for about 5 minutes per side – or until you have a nice golden color.

Then you can split them with a fork and toast them and ENJOY!



Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Pets

Leave a Reply

